Posted by: mamakass | September 15, 2013

Where have I been? And WIPs

So, you may have noticed that I have not posted in a while. Then again, you may not have noticed. Either way, I promise I have a good reason. Since posting last, I completed my master’s degree and moved across the country. I know, that is a great excuse for not knitting.

I did finish two cowls in that time, but I don’t have great pictures of either of them.

The first I knit with this handspun:

Gap-tastic!

Yes, I know…the only photo I have of it is a really bad instagram photo taken in the dark at night.  It was a pretty fun pattern, though. It was the Gap-tastic cowl.

 

The second  cowl I finished was Array. I made it with Cascade Yarns Pastaza, which is a discontinued bulky llama/wool blend. That was a very beautiful yarn since instead of actually being brown like it looks, it’s actually 50% Fuchsia and 50% Bright yellow, which heather to create that beautiful brown. In the sun it’s very vibrant. The second yarn was Dragonfly Fibers Dragon Sock in Lipstick. I only did this pattern about halfway because I got bored of it and because the Pastaza made me sneeze. So it’s just a little narrower.

array!

So, what am I working on now?

In order of age, the first project is a crocheted blanket I’ve mentioned before. I am doing it rather slowly since I don’t love the crochet, but it is coming along.

Blanket layout

Hopefully it will be great when it’s eventually done, but between now and then there is a big of crochet, a LOT Of ends, and some seaming.

The next project is one I’m really excited about. It’s a beautiful cardigan.

Clearly lacking clarity

The pattern is Clarity Cardigan, but as you can see, I have a long way to go. The yarn is MillaMia Naturally Soft Merino in storm, and the pockets are going to be Lilac Blossom.

 

The last project is one I just started, but it’s using up the half ball of Dragonfly Fibers from Array along with a beautiful skein of Malabrigo sock I got from my new LYS. I’m calling the project “Cherries in Chocolate”

Chocolate and Cherries. Yum!

This pattern is going to be the Light in Shadows shawl, and I think it will be beautiful.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

