Posted by: mamakass | January 6, 2013

2012 year in review

Here is a rough overview of my year in knitting. 2012 was a big year for me, not so much in quantity as in project monogamy. My primary project this year, my sister’s wedding shawl, was worked on as the primary project for 6 months. In 2012 I completed 12 knitting, 1 crochet and 1 spinning project. Compared with 14 knitting projects and no spinning projects in 2011. In 2010 I completed 17 knitting projects and 5 spinning projects, but that was before I was in grad school when I had time. I didn’t keep track well enough before 2010 to be able to compare.

January

supersecret spoil project

Ten Stitch Rug

February

Fall Socks Before Fall

March was when I started on the shawl.

April

Watery wingspan

Billie Directional Pullover

May

Red and Brown Marl Sweater

July

Grey Hat

November Foliage

Dick's Birthday Octopus

Triangle Loop

September

Salena's Wedding Shawl

Lazy Girl Stripey Shawlette

November

Mystic Orange Pullover

November

Recycling is patriotic

And that’s it. I didn’t complete anything in December.

Also, I know it’s already January 6, so why am I just now getting to my 2012 in review? Unfortunately, my grandmother passed away on January 3, so it has not been a good time for such distractions.

I did knit her a yellow rose on the flight out to where she lives. Yellow roses were always her favorite because my grandfather used to give them to her back when they were dating in the late 1930s.

Goodbye, Grandma

My grandmother was quite a woman. She was born in 1919, was married to a soldier during WWII, lost her husband when my father was only 15, and could still walk without a cane by herself at 93. She was incredibly strong and resilient, and I can only hope that I can be close to the woman she was. Goodbye, Grandma. I know you are right where you wanted to be.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

