Posted by: mamakass | December 20, 2012

FO: Orange Cowled Sweater

The Parliament of Reality in a sweater

 

My traveling knitting while I was working on the shawl was this sweater. I’ve loved the pattern ever since I first saw it. The first time I tried to make it, I tried to use some Manos that someone had given me, but it was unfortunately full of bug eggs, so it had to go in the garbage. It took a while for me to feel up to trying again, but I finally did. Then, conveniently, I finished the sweater just in time for a trip back up to my college in the fall. It was an excellent opportunity for a photo shoot at the Parliament of Reality, an art installation there.

So casual...

 

Pattern: Mystic Pullover by Melissa LaBarre

Yarn: Knit Picks City Tweed HW in Habanero and Plum Wine

Modifications: None

The pockets are awesome

 

I love this sweater. It’s so casual and comfortable. And I love the pockets! They really make it seem extra cozy. Definitely a great sweater to pull over when you’re wearing jeans and a little cold. The pattern was easy to follow and well written. The sweater is gorgeous.

What's happening over there?

 

Now for the downsides. I wish I would have made both the body and the sleeves a little bit longer. I don’t love the tweed. It looks pilly instead of classy. While the yarn is soft, I don’t think I’ll use it again. The pockets give quite a bit of extra bulk in the tummy area, making even skinny little  me look like I’ve got a little pudge. So, definitely not the most flattering of fits. But that’s easy enough to solve. All you have to do is put your hands in your pockets!

But definitely a winner over all.

Did I mention how much I like the pockets?

Purple pockets!

Leave a Reply

Categories

