Posted by: mamakass | December 15, 2012

FO: The beautiful wedding shawl I’ve been talking about all year

So, you know how I’ve spent pretty much all year not posting anything and saying that it’s because I’m spending all my knitting time working on a gorgeous masterpiece of a beaded shawl for my sister’s wedding? Well, the pictures finally came back from the photographer! All photos by Meghan Hayes. http://meggileighphoto.com/

Now do you see why it took 6 months to knit?

Pattern: India Stole by Sylvie Beez

Yarn: Rowan Fine Lace in Era, slightly more than 2 balls.

Beads: Size 11 clear glass seed beads

Needles: Size 3

Modifications: None

Here is a detail shot of one half

Knitting this was very time-consuming, but the chart was quite straightforward, so as long as I paid attention it wasn’t difficult. What was amazing was that after knitting it and blocking it, you can fold it in half and see that it is PERFECTLY SYMMETRICAL. That’s why I’m calling this my masterpiece. And she told me it is now her very favorite possession.

Isn't she just the most beautiful bride?

Anyway, I love my sister so much that making this was definitely worth it, and every stitch was knit with true twin love. Her wedding was the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen. It was so touching and heartfelt, and I am so happy to welcome Davin into the family. Congratulations to Salena and Davin on their wedding!

Beautiful and tasty cupcake tower

Responses

  1. It’s the best wedding shawl in history!


Leave a Reply

Categories

