Posted by: mamakass | November 15, 2012

Somehow fall became super busy

What with my sister’s wedding, school, work, two days stuck at home with Sandy and two weeks of travel for work, I somehow seem completely unable to get anything done on my blog. But I have been knitting, and hopefully I’ll have time to share some of it with you soon. When the photos come back from the wedding photographer, I can’t wait to show you the shawl I made her.

I’ve also knit a sweater in the meantime, but it’s at home blocking and I’m halfway across the country sitting in an airport waiting for a delayed flight and probably going to miss my connectin flight home, so I expect I’ll miss class tonight. If I don’t, that would be great, but if I do, I guess that’s life.

I just was able to start a gift project for someone in my knitting group. We do an awesome Secret Santa  / Pollyanna (depending on which part of the country you’re from) every year and I’m so excited to spoil my recipient. I’m sure (s)he’ll be happy with the present and I should have a great time making it and yay! I hope she loves it because she’s the only one getting knit Christmas presents this year. Well, I guess that’s not true. The boyf’s family loves getting soap socks, and those only take a little bit of time, so I usually don’t count it, but I guess it counts in a strict sense.

I’m going up to Rhinebeck this weekend, which I know is a few weeks late in knitterville, but I went to college up there and there’s a memorial service this weekend for one of the professors. My sister, a good friend of ours, and I are having a girl’s weekend in the Hudson Valley and it will be awesome! (the road trip, antiquing and fall leafing parts anyway) Hopefully I will get some photos of my new knits in the beautiful fall scenery and be able to share them with all of you lovely people. And maybe now that my sister’s epic wedding shawl is over I’ll be able to knit more things. I have to come up with something else to work on because the Christmas present is the opposite of portable knitting (SPOILER ALERT: 7 yarns, ends all over the place and a bunch of one-row stripes, meaning you have to have ends all up and down both sides. The finishing on this project will be barftastic, but the project will be awesome!) Don Juan will tell you so. He’s still smiling.

Leave a Reply

Categories

