Posted by: mamakass | May 7, 2012

Traveling, Knitting, Yarn and Work

So, this week I’m on a business trip down south visiting with clients and talking textiles. This is all well and good, but I do always find traveling to be a little tiring. Instead of spending 8 hours a day at work and the remainder socializing, I end up spending over 12 hours split between being on the road chatting with our salesman and meeting with clients. By the time I get back to the hotel, I’m too tired to do much of anything. To that end, I always find business trips to be terrible wastes of a week, as nothing gets done for any of my hobbies.

In other bad news, my earbuds shocked me in the ear canal on the airport and now my ear hurts. Hopefully it will go away, but it still feels shocky and it’s been more than 12 hours.

Something new happened to me today that’s never happened before. When I got to my hotel and went up to my room, there was a woman in there. They had given me the key to a room that was already occupied. I felt extremely bad for the woman I walked in on, but luckily she was decent and seemed to understand that there had been confusion. I still feel out of sorts about it, and definitely plan to keep the chain on the door for the duration of my stay, lest someone walk in on me in a less-than-decent state.

I brought a little knitting with me. Some fish and the epic shawl I’m working on for my sister’s wedding. I’m not sure if I’ve discussed the shawl on my blog yet, but it’s going to be an absolutely gorgeous laceweight beaded stole. I am very excited, but I’m definitely behind schedule knitting it because it takes just too much thought and I need to knit 4 rows a day, which I haven’t been doing.

It turns out there’s a yarn store within close walking distance of my hotel. They closed at 5 today, but are open until 9 tomorrow, so I’ll probably stop in to see the goods.

I seem to be in a rambly mood today, but perhaps that’s because I have nothing in particular to discuss, and no one in particular to talk to, what with staying in a hotel and all.

Responses

  1. You’re awesome. That sounds like a great wedding present for Salena! You can always call me if you’re bored – I’ll always make time for you since you are the love of my life after all.

    • Use the deadbolt at all times when you are in the room–they are safer


Leave a Reply

Categories

