Posted by: mamakass | May 3, 2012

FO: Blue Wingspan

Pattern: Wingspan by maylin Tri’Coterie Designs

Yarn: This really pretty hand dyed yarn that a wonderful woman in my knitting group gave me. The blue and red are the same colors as in rocket pops. It’s 2-ply fingering weight and a little rough, but I honestly have no idea what the base was.

Modifications: I think I did one extra triangle.

Along the line of wingspans, The day of this photoshoot, Dick and I went to the National Air and Space Museum to see the space shuttle Discovery, which was recently housed there. It was really big and awesome. Even though I went to Space Camp and Space Academy when I was younger, I was never so close to something that had actually been in space. Which is also extremely appropriate for a Rocket Pop colored shawl.

The pattern itself was extremely easy and addictive. Since it’s entirely short-rows, you never quite feel like you’ve finished a row, so you feel like you have to keep going. Also, being garter stitch, it went extremely quickly. I also like this pattern in particular and short rows with garter stitch in general because they make variegated yarns look their best. The short rows prevent overall pooling and the garter stitch hides the end-of-row pooling that can so often plague flat-knit projects with variegated yarns.

Responses

  1. So pretty! I love the color!


Leave a Reply

Categories

