Posted by: mamakass | October 16, 2011

FO: Dick’s Cuddly Sweater

I have recently finished a cozy sweater for my boyfriend, Dick. I know, I know, you aren’t supposed to make a sweater for your boyfriend because it’s a curse on your relationship or some nonsense, but Dick needed a sweater. Otherwise he’d be fweezy all winter. Besides, his mom bought me the book Knits Men Want for Christmas last year, (a terribly subtle hint, I know) and the only thing he really wanted out of the book was this sweater. He even bought the yarn for it! There was no way I could turn the cutie down. So, after a few weeks of knitting, I have completed Dick’s hoodie.

Pattern: Hooded Sweatshirt from Knits Men Want

Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease Chunky in Charcoal and Silver Gray

Needles: Size 10.5 circulars

Modifications: My gauge was a little smaller than called for, which is good because Dick is thinner than the XS size. I also lengthened the arms by about 3 inches because he’s lanky and they would have otherwise been about three-quarter length.

I found the pattern to be very good. It was helpful that it was written in so many sizes and gauges because you can really make it out of any yarn you want. After having made it, I wish I would have used a finer yarn because the sweater is seamed, and the seams are really quite thick. However, the sweater fits him quite well and he’s extremely happy with it, so I guess “Knits Men Want” is an appropriate title. Since the gauge was so large (3.5 stitches to the inch) I was able to complete the sweater really quickly.

So, all in all, a very satisfactory finished project!

Responses

  1. Looks great, sweetie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

