Posted by: mamakass | July 29, 2011

FO Friday: Sunset Socks

Pattern: Cauchy by Cookie A.

Yarn: Knit Picks Sock Blank, as dyed by Dick

Needles: Size 1.5, two circular method

Modifications: I re-charted the pattern to be over 11 stitches instead of 10, because 70 stitches was much too small, and 80 stitches was much too big. The sock has 77 stitches.

I enjoyed knitting these socks quite a bit actually. I decided to use the “beach” end of the yarn cake for the heel because otherwise there would have been a major jog in the coloration on the top of the sock. This way we got a nice even transition. I wish there would have been enough to do the heel entirely in blue, but that wasn’t a possibility.

I am happy, though, as I expected the socks to look much more like a rainbow than they do. They look nicely like a sunset.

And since one of my dear readers asked, here is a picture of the sock blank again so you can see the change:

Responses

  1. The socks look great and the color really does look like a sunset!

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

