Posted by: mamakass | May 30, 2011

Cinderella’s Stepsister Socks

Notice: My sister is quite nice. Not at all evil in fact. And being that we are identical twins, it is far from a stepsister relationship. And I am about the farthest thing from a maid there is.  But when I look at these socks I knit for her, I can’t help thinking they must be the socks that Cinderella’s stepsister must have put on after cutting off her heel to try to fit it in the golden slipper. (Original version, people! Not the movie).

The socks are even reminiscent of Cinderella (the Disney version) because of all the little birds going across the top of the foot.

Yarn: Knit Picks Sock Blank, dyed by my sister.

Needles: Size 1.5, 2 circular method

Pattern: Kai-Mei by Cookie. A.

I was surprised by how the socks turned out to look red-and-blue instead of purple. It seemed to be one of the primary colors on the blanks.

This pattern was incredibly easy, so I knit up the socks in no time flat, which was awesome. And considering how pretty they are, I’m happy.

I was very surprised by how little yarn I used. It was around 300 yards, which is a lot less than I normally use for a pair of socks. I have enough leftover to make a pair of footie socks out of the rest, which I’m halfway through doing (i.e., I have knit one of the footie socks).

Anyway, I’m happy with how they turned out, my sister’s happy with how they turned out, and we’re both happy I’m not Cinderella and she’s not my evil stepsister who cut off her heel only to fail at marrying a prince.

Responses

  1. They are bee-yoo-tee-ful!

    • Thank you!

  2. Gorgeous! And Salena has such pretty ballerina feet to go in them!

    I miss you! Call me whenevs!

  3. Okay, 300 yards??? That sounds like a lot to a non-knitter.

    • Your socks took over 400 yards. A sweater takes over 1000.

      Knitting takes up a lot of yards.


Leave a Reply

Categories

