Posted by: mamakass | January 18, 2011

A Lovely Knitting Weekend

My knitting group had a lovely retreat this weekend at the beach! We rented a house, knit, bought yarn, and had a great time!

I don’t have any pictures to share (unfortunately), as my computer is at the moment refusing to read my SD card. I know I could just wait to post, but insomnia has led me to write instead.

I haven’t posted in quite some time, and felt like an update was in order. I have been working hard on a few projects, and considered this weekend a finishing weekend. I finished Dick’s socks that I’ve been working on since Christmas, and got a good bit of work done on a very bulky sweater I’ve been knitting.

I have also decided to use leftover yarn from socks to make single footie socks. I knit one this weekend too.

Also, I have been thinking about knitting in general this month, as it is the month of resolutions, and have realized that my life could use a little less of it. I have gotten to the point where I want to knit all the time, just to fill the time, to feel like I’m being productive, but almost as a way to avoid real productivity. Which, avoidance of work is a lot of what hobbies are. So I have decided as my knitting related New Year’s Resolution to do less of it. Granted, I will still continue to knit, and to go to my weekly knitting nights, which are a wonderful social event; but I don’t need to sit at home and knit alone so much when I could be reading or doing some housework. I almost feel that because every weekend is planned with seeing Dick, I reserve the week for knitting and the week for knitting and have pretty much stopped doing much of anything else. My life needs to be richer than that, so I am going to limit myself to an hour a day, unless I am doing something else while knitting (like talking to friends at my knitting group or watching a movie with Salena and Davin). I know I will finish fewer projects, but that is perhaps not as fulfilling as having finished reading books or cooking dinner. The other thing is that it has somehow happened that I don’t cook, which makes me almost feel like a tenant in Salena and Davin’s home. So I am trying to spend more time with them, and in the kitchen so the house can feel more like ours. Though I suppose I should have expected that somewhat given I live in a house as the third wheel.

I feel like I’m sounding very sad. I am not very sad. I am simply listing things that could be improved in my life. This knitting weekend was lovely, in that I spent an entire weekend with friends, having a great time and laughing a lot. It was the first weekend in a while that I haven’t seen Dick, and I missed him, but it was nice to do something else for a change. I just wish that he and I lived closer together so my time didn’t have to be so specifically divided into Dick-time and me-time. I wonder if I’m so nostalgic for Dick right now because I didn’t see him this weekend like I’m used to.

Leave a Reply

Categories

