Posted by: mamakass | July 4, 2010

Happy 4th of July!!!

I haven’t posted in about a month. My excuse is that I was moving. Now that I’m all settled in, let me share what I’ve been working on with you.

First up, I made a shawl to be gifted out of some of my handspun yarn. It’s the Swallowtail shawl, only modified to use more yarn. I added a bit of lace at the end before the border stitch because I had a lot of yarn left over. Here it is:

Needles: size 3

Yarn: Laceweight Handspun in “My Funny Valentine” colorway. 50% Merino, 50% silk

Here is the shawl modeled so successfully by Dick. Doesn’t he look pretty?

And here are some closeups:

In other news, I’ve joined the Tour de Fleece (rav link). This is a competition (?) where spinners join to spin every day during the Tour de France. The tagline is “they spin, we spin”.

I am spinning a three-ply fingering weight yarn. I hope to get enough to make myself a sweater. I have a bump roving of 10.25 ounces of Corriedale that I bought at the Chancellor’s sheep and wool festival last year. My goal is to finish it during the Tour.

This is what I have so far:

So I probably have one of the 10 ounces spun already, meaning I still have 9/10 of the singles to do and plying. I’d really better get moving on this.

Tonight we’re going to the Fireworks show downtown, where the Goo Goo dolls are playing. It should be a lot of fun!

Happy 4th of July everyone!

Leave a Reply

Categories

