Posted by: mamakass | May 2, 2010

Maryland Sheep and Wool

Yesterday, one of my friends from my knitting group and I went to Maryland sheep and wool. It was awesome. There were a bunch of booths of amazing handspun yarn, colorful commercial yarn, weaving and spinning equipment, fiber, wood working crafts and books. It was incredibly hot, because not only was it 85 degrees outside, but we were in crowded barns full of wool and people AND the booths all had bright lights on in them which heated things up more.

There was one barn that held the prize objects, and they were truly inspiring.

I  didn’t take enough pictures while I was there (as in, I took none.) We bought a bunch of fiber and yarn, and my friend bought a drop spindle and I taught her to spin at lunch. She started to make a beautiful bulky yarn. With more practice I’m sure she’ll make amazing things.

Here is what I bought:

This is some wool roving. It’s pink. The saleswoman said it was a “light fleece,” though I’m not sure that that means. Anyway, the four ounces I bought were a whopping $4.75. Which, for those of you who don’t know, is a VERY good price. The wool is still quite soft and lovely. I think it’s meant for needlefelting, but I will make something amazing from it.

This is 4 oz. of Merino Top that I bought. It’s beautiful. I think I’m going to make gloves or mittens from it for winter, because the black and red will coordinate beautifully with my red winter coat. It’s Stony Mountain Fibers in the “Midnight” colorway.

This big beauty is a 575 yard skein of alpaca from Delly’s Delights Farm. For me, that’s enough to make a cardigan. So I’m going to make a simple cardigan out of it to really show off the softness and mixed shades of gray. It will be the perfect layering piece.

This beautiful red sock yarn is Dragonfly Fibers and the colorway is Lipstick. I am going to make it into some absolutely gorgeous socks. They will be phenomenal.

This spiral glass shawl pin is GORGEOUS! It’s white, so it will go with anything, and the spiral shape is unique and interesting. It was made by Moving Mud.

So, all in all, a very fun and worthwile trip!

Responses

  1. oooo. Lots of pretty.


Leave a Reply

Categories

