Posted by: mamakass | April 30, 2010

Knit and Crochet Blog Week

I am too lazy to do a post every day, so I’m celebrating Knit and Crochet Blog Week by putting the whole week’s worth into one post.

Here goes:

1) Starting Out

How and when did you begin knitting/crocheting? was it a skill passed down through generations of your family, or something you learned from Knitting For Dummies? What or who made you pick up the needles/hook for the first time? Was it the celebrity knitting ‘trend’ or your great aunt Hilda? TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo1

My sister apparently once saw a girl with orange hair knitting on a train. She saw her and thought she was the coolest girl ever and decided she wanted to learn to knit, so she grabbed two sharpened pencils, some old craft yarn, and the internet and started.

I came downstairs one evening in high school and my sister was knitting (quite badly). I asked what she was doing and got her to teach me what she’d figured out so far (casting on and knit stitch. We were both adding an extra stitch to the beginning of every row.) So, we looked at websites and figured out what was going on. Then I decided I wanted a 7.5 foot long scarf in fuzzy yarn. SoI bought like 9 skeins of some sort of nubby, fuzzy yarn at Wal-mart and proceeded to knit. I started with 20 stitches, and about 4 feet in I had 70. So I worked my way back down to 20 and cast off. I wore that scarf all through college. Then I decided I wanted to learn to purl, so I made a ribbed scarf and some moss stitch scarves. Whenever I decided I wanted to learn something new, I picked a pattern that used it, looked on the internet for some basic directions and went for it. I have made a LOT of horrible mistakes and projects, but I’ve learned quite a lot too. I am entirely self-and internet taught in knitting and spinning. (My spinning isn’t so very good yet, but it will be.)

2) An Inspirational Pattern

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so! TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo2

I want to knit more cardigans that actually fit. I want to knit one pair of socks every month. I don’t have any particular things I aspire to anymore, because generally I just do whatever it is I want to. In spinning, however, I do have goals. I want to be able to spin evenly in any weight I want to. But I’m still new to it, so I’m sure those goals will change too.

3) One Great Knitter

Write about a knitter whose work (whether because of project choice, photography, styling, scale of projects, stash, etc) you enjoy. If they have an enjoyable blog, you might find it a good opportunity to send a smile their way. TAGGING CODE:knitcroblo3

Her. You would not believe how fast she can knit those cables. She’s in my Monday Knit Nite, and MAN can that woman knit cables. (Ravelry link)

Also, all of the knitters whose blogs I read. They have taught me so many things and are all amazing! Thanks a lot for everything!

4) A New Skill

Is there a skill related to your hobby that you hope to learn one day? maybe you’re a crocheter who’d also like to knit? Maybe you’d like to learn to knit continental, knit backwards, try cables or attempt stranded colourwork. TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo4

I want to become an excellent spinner, as I have mentioned before. I would also like to do a project with more cables, like an aran sweater. I have no interest in crochet, and never have, so I doubt I’ll ever get into that. Probably the next thing I’ll get into is dyeing and fiber preparation.

5) Location, Location, Location

Where do you like to indulge in your craft? Is your favourite arm chair your little knitting cubby area, or do you prefer to ‘knit in public’? Do you liek to crochet in the great outdoors, perhaps, or knit in the bath, or at the pub? TAGGING CODE:knitcroblo5

Absolutely everywhere. I love to knit in bed, on the couch, on the porch, at bars (yes, that’s where my knitting club meets. It’s totally fun), on the bus to work everyday (now THERE is some good knitting.) I also knit during lunch at work, which is often Independence Mall (like 15 feet from the Liberty Bell. Awesome. I have knit on airplanes, in Honduras, in class, at the movie theatre, at dance shows. Pretty much any time I’m sitting down, I’m knitting. And sometimes when I’m standing too. Probably my craziest place? In Chichen Itza.

6) Revisit a past F/O

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of hole. Or maybe that jumper that your did just didn’t like that much… TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo6

One of my biggest problems with knitting is that my favorite things to knit end up being sort of unwearable. However, my projects that get the most use are basic winter accessories–hats and scarves. They’re boring knits though, which is why I’m thrilled to have caught the sock bug. Interesting knits AND extremely wearable. I knit a sweater and gave it to my best friend, but I don’t think she wears a bulky-weight wool sweater much in her new Southern home. I knit the ugliest sweater in the world for my mother (sorry, Mom, I know you love it) made with navy fun fur that she wears ALL THE TIME. She loves it. People compliment her on it. I think it’s awful. I knit a blanket for my nephew (simple stockinette stitch in Lion Brand Homespun) and he LOVES it too. I’m not going to pick any one specific project, though, because I love them all dearly.

7. What a Yarn

There’s one love that we all share: yarn. Blog about a particular yarn you have used in the past or own in your stash, or perhaps one that you covet from afar. If it is a yarn you have used you could show the project that you used it for, perhaps writing a mini ‘review’. Perhaps, instead, you pine for the feel of the almost mythical qiviut? You could explore and research the raw material and manufacturing process if you were feeling investigative. TAGGING CODE: knitcroblo7

I don’t have much to say about this one. I’m not much of a stasher and generally don’t think about yarn except when deciding what the most cost-effective (including feel, price and color choice) is for my next project. I buy my yarn almost exclusively  online, so I usually just go for a color I like that has decent reviews. I’ve almost never been disappointed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

