Posted by: mamakass | March 10, 2010

Sexual Dimorphism is a Bummer

Mostly because it means that knitting for men takes, like, a bazjillion times as long.

Take, for example, this hockey jersey that a friend and I have been working on for over a year:

Sorry for the really bad picture, it was morning when I took them, and I didn’t want to bother much about it, as I don’t particularly care much about this project.

I don’t even remember what the pattern was (goes to check her ravelry page) Oh yes:

Pattern: Joukahainen by Kristel Nyberg (ravelry link)

Yarn: Knitpicks Wool of the Andes in Chestnut and White and Knitpicks Swish Worsted in Black (Don’t ask me how much of each because I have no idea)

Needles: I believe they were size 8, but don’t quote me on that one.

Anyway, here’s the story: The guy who this hockey jersey is for is best friends with my best friend. She and I both knit, so he asked for a historic knit hockey jersey. He’d been bugging us about it for a couple years, so we figured senior year with everyone leaving we should do it. So we got him to draw what he wanted and we picked out a pattern. She and I agreed that I’d knit the sleeves and do the finishing and she’d knit the body part.

This was fine. I knocked out the sleeves in about two weeks. That was when we realized that my half was significantly smaller than her half. That was fine, really, since they’re best friends and he and I are hardly close. Anyway, she got really busy (what with writing a 500 page novel and then going into Teach For America) and didn’t really have time to do it. She finally finished the body portion in about November and mailed it to me for the finishing. Only she’d made the neckline ridiculously small so I had to fix that too. Anyway, because I’m not that close with him and because I hate finishing, I’ve been procrastinating for months.

Also, he wants this to play hockey in. I mean, really. What’s the point if he’s going to get beat up in it and get it covered in blood and skated over?

Anyway, the point is that after being started on February 21, 2009, The Neverending Hockey Jersey has finally been completed and is in the mail heading toward New Jersey. (Unfortunately, the hockey player will not be back home to New Jersey for two weeks. Lesigh.)

Additionally problematic with sexual dimorphism is the fact that Dick’s feet are huge and I feel like I’m never going to finish his socks. I’m just about finished with the first one. Ugh.

Responses

  1. It’s a great sweater, though. If hope he appreciates it 🙂

  2. Yay hockey jersey is done!

    I actually finished it at the end of May, but with TFA starting on June 1st, I didn’t have any time to mail it to you until I settled into my house in Arkansas.

    So there were several factors making this into a neverending project.

    But it looks great! I’ll have to get Marc to take some more pictures of it for us!

    • Fair enough. I do hope he takes pictures. I want to see how it fits him. It’s a pity it didn’t get finished until after winter though, since it’s going to be a VERY warm sweater. I don’t think it would be comfortable to exercise in.


Leave a Reply

Categories

