Posted by: mamakass | February 27, 2010

I feel like an athlete now that I finished the Ravelympics. Or. Dick’s Mogul Knucks

Event: Mitten Moguls

Status: Completed!

I picked this pattern because Dick wanted a pair of fingerless gloves.  He picked the yarn out of my stash, and after a thorough Ravelry search, we decided on these.

Pattern: Knucks by Pamela Grossman

Size: Men’s

Yarn: Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool

Needles: Size 4 dpns

Modifications: I used the textured cuff, but instead of using the crochet bind-off, I used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind-off (Have I mentioned how much I love it?

I didn’t like this pattern because it was top-down. And casting on five fingers and knitting 9 rows each before putting them on waste yarn to be picked up later is just obnoxious when you know it would have been simpler the other way. Once I got past the finger silliness, the pattern was a breeze. Each glove took 3 bus rides (so just about 2 hours).

Another beef I have with this project is the yarn. It’s a perfectly nice yarn, I suppose, but it’s very weak. I accidentally broke it while tugging when I was joining in the round. (I always like to do this, especially on dps because I don’t like the ladders. I got them anyway, oh well.) Also, and I think this is because the silk and wool take up the dye differently and there are tiny slubs in the yarn, it looks pilly when you first knit with it. I complained about this to Dick, who said he loved it because they looked worn already, which I guess is cool if you want new gloves that look like they’ve been around a while. On the bright side, even though it looks pilly, it has quite good stitch definition. I just feel like it shouldn’t. I’m not sure why. But the stitch definition is phenomenal (I think that’s why I got the ladders at my needle joins. Besides the obvious.)

Oh, also, Dick wanted me to call the project “Dick’s Mogul Knucks.” So I did.

Responses

  1. 1) Juniper breeze is the soap choice.

    2) Our newest dog loves to chase an old Beanie Baby (how do I put registered trade mark?) and bring it back to me. This morning I tossed it into the bathroom sink area. He went after it and slid right into the wall.

    3) Done–at least I think I now know how to do this. First I gotta wacth a you tube video about 3 times, then figure out those silly letters that google (again how do I do that trade mark thing?) requires to register. You will bring me into the 20th century yet, won’t you? I like my old Studebaker (again with that reigstered trade mark thing) horse drawn wagon.

    • Are you gonna get mom to sign up?


Leave a Reply

Categories

