Posted by: mamakass | January 28, 2010

WIPs

I have several WIPs right now, which is unusual for me. I’m kind of finding it overwhelming. I have all these different projects that I can be working on and I feel like I’m not getting anywhere with any of them.

First of all, there’s still that sweater that I have to sew letters on. I have only sewn on like two letters, but I need to sew on more, and I kind of want to get that done, only I don’t like sewing. But I think I’ll do that this weekend, do it all in one go and get it over with this weekend.

Secondly, there’s the white lacy cardigan I’m working on. I have one sleeve left, and that shouldn’t take long, so I’ll probably do that this weekend too. I guess I’m donating this weekend to UFOs.

Thirdly there are the socks I’m knitting for Dick. I was afraid they were too small for him so I stopped until he was in town to try them on. They were in fact too small. (The pattern for some odd reason was written with 3.5 inches of negative ease. On a men’s sock. On size 1 needles. Without elastic yarn. I do not understand this fact.) So I have re-worked the pattern to be with zero ease, which I think will be better, and have begun re-knitting them. They now look like they might fit on a man.

My fourth project (besides spinning) are some gloves. I was going to knit the Kingdom gloves from knitty with the leftover yarn from my mom’s shawl. Unfortunately, there were a few problems with this idea. First of all, I apparently have massive hands, as according to the pattern measurements, my wrists are XS and my knuckle circumference is L. I checked my gauge, and was a little small, so I figured I’d make the XL gloves and have a somewhat loose wristband. To make matters worse, the gloves are cabled and knit on size 0 needles, and I apparently thought it was a good idea to use black yarn.

So, I spent a week on the bus knitting the wristband of the ill-fated glove, continuously thinking that it must be too small, but I continued until the row when you make the cuff in the round. Then I found this horrifying fact:

The horror! A bad pic AND a glove that doesn't fit!

It doesn't fit over my knuckles!

Sorry for the crappy pic, btw. It’s hard to take pics of your own hand at night with the flash. Ugh. When will it get light enough after work that I can take pics outside?

Anyway, these stupid gloves won’t fit over my knuckles. So they will be frogged.

Leave a Reply

Categories

