Posted by: mamakass | January 13, 2010

Dark side, bright side

I don’t like it when people are unintentionally rude. Because then you feel bad about being angry with them. “She didn’t know better” you tell yourself, but then, she really should have.

Not that the particular story I’m talking about is particularly important or rude.

Yesterday I was sitting on the bus working on Dick’s socks. I still had about a quarter inch of them. A woman said, “Oh, what are you knitting?” and I expected one of those normal conversations where people say “I could never do that” or something along those lines. I replied that I was knitting socks. She said “Girl, you got a LONG way to go.” And I said, “Yeah, I know, I just started last night.” Then she replied, “You need bigger needles.”

I think I know what size needles I need to knit socks, thank you. And I think I have a pretty good idea of how much farther I have to go. You do not need to pretend like you know what I’m doing better than I do when you likely don’t knit.

On the bright side of that bus ride, I met a girl who’s in nursing school so she can be a midwife. I’m pretty excited about that because, as you may or may not know, I do aspire to that profession.

On the bright side of my day yesterday I figured out how to knit two socks at a time on two circular needles. I’m pretty excited. I still find it rather fidgety and I find that the yarns are getting tangled everywhere, but my hope is that that will improve as I get better at it.

Responses

  1. Wow. People can be really stupid.


Leave a Reply

Categories

