Posted by: mamakass | January 3, 2010

FO: Nanananabooboo socks

I finished these socks on December 3, so yes, I am a little behind. But after this I’m just about caught up to real time!

So, here are my second socks:

My socks don't have to match! So there! Nananabooboo!

Pattern: Naniboujou by Chrissy Gardiner from Knitty Winter 2008

Yarn: Knitpicks Palette in Garnet Heather, Turmeric and Masala

Needles: Size US size 0 and 1.5. The 0 was for the non-colorwork sections and the 1.5 was for colorwork.

Modifications: Instead of having one main color, I had two and switched them on the heel, toe and cuff so that my socks are opposite of each other.

I’ve wanted to knit these socks ever since I saw them on Knitty in Winter 2008. In fact, they might just be the only socks I ever saw the pattern for and thought “oh my god those are beautiful I must knit myself a pair!”

So I finally got around to making them. I had wanted the main color to be red like in the original pattern, but I didn’t have enough of the red yarn, which was left over from my Chevrolace socks, but I didn’t want either the yellow or the orange to be THE main color, because honestly, I’ve never been much of a fan of either yellow or orange, so I decided to split them evenly and do a total of one toe, heel and cuff in each color. It was a good decision really, because I LOVE these socks. I cannot get enough of wearing them. (And neither can my sister because she works in a warehouse that doesn’t have heating, so I lent them to her.) They seem to be holding up well even though they’re knit with Knitpicks Palette, which doesn’t tend to be the sturdiest yarn ever. However, they’re knit in colorwork on a tight gauge, so I imagine they’ll last at least a while.

Responses

  1. Those are super cool!


Leave a Reply

Categories

