Posted by: mamakass | August 12, 2009

FO: Finding my Brother a Wife

I love calling things that are finished in my life but not fiber things FOs.  In this case, my finished object is entirely social and not even anything real.

My brother was lonely for a long time. So I decided to do something about it and I craigslisted him a wife. I didn’t think it would work. But it did. And they really love each other. And they got married two weeks ago. The wedding was amazing. I don’t have any pictures of the actual ceremony, well, I don’t even have any pictures of the bride and groom. Dick was the photographer for the wedding, so I didn’t figure I had to take any pictures, but he hasn’t given them to me yet, so I can’t share.

The wedding was really simple, but I liked that. There were almost no decorations, and the bride and groom made everything they had. There were only about 20 people there, besides the wedding party, and everyone cried. My nephew was the best man, and he was so excited to be getting a mommy that he cried his eyes out during the ceremony.

My brother, being a veteran, has always wanted my sister and I to knit him an American flag blanket. So we did for his wedding present. Ok, I’ll be honest: I figured out the pattern, my sister knit the flag, and I sewed on the stars and did the finishing. She ended up doing more of the work, but it turned out great anyway. Here is a picture:

DSCN0288

We folded it like a real flag to wrap it. I forgot to take a picture before, so this picture was after they unwrapped it. It’s huge, by the way. The flag is over 6 feet long.

Anyway, just for a few giggles, here’s a picture of my boyfriend hitting dancing with me.

DSCN0287


Leave a comment

Categories