Posted by: mamakass | July 21, 2009

FO-Chevrolace Socks

DSCN0238

Man, my sheets make a beautiful backdrop for that picture. Anyway, I finally finished the Chevrolace socks. And by that I mean I’m finally blogging about it. I finished them about two weeks ago, but I’ve been so busy with my other knitting projects and job and things, I haven’t had time.

DSCN0242

Anyway, here’s the important info.

Pattern: Chevrolace Socks by Heidi M. Scheppman

Size: One Size

Needles: Size 0 Circulars, knit in magic loop

Yarn: Knitpicks Palette in Garnet Heather Colorway

Modifications: I realized that instead of being over 9, the pattern repeat (between the purl sections) is 11 stitches, so I added two stitches to each repeat.

I enjoyed knitting them because they were socks, which I enjoyed a lot more than I thought I would. However, I had a few problems with the pattern, which, though I found them annoying, may have to do with my inexperience at knitting on such a small gauge.

I didn’t like all of the k2togs. I thought there were too many too close together, which was definitely because of the new size. The second sock was a lot better.

As I said, there was an error in the chart, and rows 1, 5, 7 and 9 had a 12-stitch repeat and row 3 had 10. So I added another set of decreases and another “k, yo, k into same stitch” to even it out.

I find that the stitch pattern doesn’t have much stretch in it, so the sock is a little difficult to get on, and a bit tight around the arch of my foot.

However, I absolutely love these socks. I think they are beautiful, and I love the color, and I love having hand-knit socks. I’ll be knitting another pair of socks soon.

Responses

  1. […] the original pattern, but I didn’t have enough of the red yarn, which was left over from my Chevrolace socks, but I didn’t want either the yellow or the orange to be THE main color, because honestly, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

