Posted by: mamakass | June 30, 2009

It’s been a great week so far

So, starting off with Saturday. There was a huge arts festival in my neighborhood with tons of vendors from all over the country. My sister, her boyfriend and I wandered all over the festival looking at pretty art, and we ended up buying three things. One of them was a present for our brother’s wedding, so you don’t get pictures of that. My sister got a wooden bowl that’s absolutely gorgeous. It’s made out of maple burl (roots) and is gorgeous how it mixes the gnarliness of the roots with a smooth beautiful bowl and turquoise and brass inlay. It was made by The Bowl Maker. His stuff is seriously amazing. Here are some pictures of my sister’s bowl.

DSCN0171

DSCN0172

DSCN0173

I got a print of a painting, which I absolutely love. It’s by Philip Singer. He does these really great surrealist pieces that are fun and light. Keep in mind this is a photo of a painting, so it’s a little distorted.

DSCN0169

In case you can’t tell, it’s one bird using a pulley to lift a nest to another bird living in a niche in the sky.

After the fair, we watched the new Transformers movie, which was pretty good. Oh! And when we got home I got my Knit Picks order in the mail. I got a bunch of tiny Harmony circulars (I don’t like interchangeables) for making socks, and two skeins of Knit Picks Palette for the next socks I’m going to make when I finish the Chevrolace. But I won’t tell you what the pattern is yet. I will, however, post photos of the new colors. They’re going to go along with the leftover Garnet Heather I’ll have after I finish the Chevrolace.

DSCN0197

DSCN0198

Those are the Turmeric and Masala colorway. My boyfriend said he liked those photos because they looked professionally done. I must say they look like they belong on an ad. Particularly Masala.

Sunday was pretty lazy, I just worked on my spinning, which I FINALLY finished Monday night.

DSCN0190

In case you don’t remember (which you likely don’t) That is 1.9 ounces of Merino from the Split Rock Ranch. Here is what it looked like before:

il_fullxfull.62053692

I’ve been working on this yarn for almost two months, and no wonder! I’m using a spindle, and it turned out to be 578 yards of two-ply laceweight. I haven’t decided what I’m going to make with it, but it must be lacy. Maybe a small shawl or a scarf. It will be made after I finish the dress I’m designing. (Two projects at a time. Don’t do more than two projects at a time.)

Here are some more pictures, because everyone loves yarn pr0n. Just ignore the thick blue yarn, because that’s what I used to tie the hank together.

DSCN0177

DSCN0182DSCN0183

As far as the fiber goes, I would definitely recommend it. It was extremely easy to use and it’s SOOOOOOOOOO soft. I have never felt yarn so soft in my life. If any of you out there are spinners, go check out the Split Rock Ranch site and buy some of their stuff. You won’t regret it. Better yet, joing their roving of the month club. I would if I had more money. But at this point, I’m not sure I should spend anything when I already have 10 ounces of roving I bought at that sheep and wool festival in New York a couple months ago. Oh well, there’s always in a few months, because:

(and here’s the best reason this week rocks) I GOT A JOB!!! And it’s not just any job. It’s a job at a yarn company. Working for their president. You’ve never heard of them because it’s an industrial yarn recycling company (they take leftover cotton fabrics from, say, t-shirt production, separate by color, pull the fibers apart and re-spin it into yarn for making new t-shirts and socks! Even better, all of their product is 100% recycled and they don’t even dye anything! Since they make it separated by color, the red fabric becomes red yarn, the black fabric becomes black yarn, etc., so it’s really great). I’m not gonna say what company it is since a) you’ve probably never heard of them anyway, and b) I don’t know if they have any sort of policies against it. But I’m SOOO excited! A career in yarn! Who’da thought I could do that? So I’ll be starting that tomorrow. Yay!

Responses

  1. You rock times a billion.

    • Thanks, Neens.


Leave a Reply

Categories

