Posted by: mamakass | May 28, 2009

Graduation is Over

So, graduation is over. It wasn’t as sad as I thought it might be.

Beforehand, we sat around with the family waiting for it to start. I was spinning during that time. Here are two gratuitous pictures of that, just so this post will have some fiber content.

Pretty graduation dress!

Pretty graduation dress!

I'm not sure what I'm doing here. Using the spindle as a microphone?

I'm not sure what I'm doing here. Using the spindle as a microphone?

After that, we went to go get lined up. It took forever to line us all up (403 graduates), and then we processed.

Processing down the library staircase

Processing down the library staircase

Then we had the ceremony. Our speaker was really great. He’s the governor of New York, who was the first African American governor of New York and the second blind governor of any state ever. His speech was pretty sweet about learning and how important it is through the lens of helping his son with his homework.

Governor Patterson

Governor Patterson

After speeches came giving out diplomas.

Yay! I graduated!

Yay! I graduated!

My diploma is entirely in Latin without a single word of English.

Two really interesting things happened while they were giving out diplomas, and I can’t remember which happened first.

First of all, there was a guy who, while crossing the stage to get his diploma, interrupted the entire ceremony to tell us all something. Even though the administrators let him talk, no one really knows what he was trying to say because he was saying very vague things and stopping any time someone from the audience made noise. After he gave up, they gave him his diploma, he took offย  his cap and gown and left the ceremony, angry that we wouldn’t listen to him babble about nothing.

More importantly, there was a woman in our class, Chris Tarsell, who died during the last year. While giving out the diplomas, they called out her name with everyone else’s. Her mother crossed the stage to get her diploma. In the graduation program under her name it said “degree given posthumously in light of her academic achievements.” None of us knew this was going to happen, so we gave her a standing ovation. It was very moving and the only part of the ceremony that made me cry.

So, after the ceremony was over, we threw our hats, like any good graduates.

Yay!!!!

Yay!!!!

And here’s my best friend, my sister and I with our diplomas. Y’all will have to guess who’s who. ๐Ÿ™‚

We graduated!!

We graduated!!

*All of the photos in this post were yoinked from my boyfriend, Dick.

Responses

  1. congrats on graduating!! ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve got a few years left before i can finally graduate and leave this college!! lol… although I’ve been here for 4 years now, i ended up changing my major 3 or 4 times before i found the one i wanted lol… and that’s kinda funny about the guy getting upset and leaving, how embarassing would that be?! lol
    Are you and your twin close? Me and my twin aren’t that close… i think its due to a maturity level issue lol… maybe when she starts growing up a little we’ll be closer ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • My sister and I are VERY close. We’ve had our rough spots throughout the years where we didn’t like each other so much, but we went to the same college (that was like 20 hours from home) and now that we’re done we’re moving in together. I don’t know what I’d do without her.

      Good luck on finishing college!

  2. Congratulations! Hope all your dreams come true (well, only the good ones, that is!)

    • Thanks so much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

