Posted by: mamakass | May 12, 2009

FO–Edgar Scarf

I made this scarf for a very dear professor of mine. Last semester she told me that she wanted me to knit her something before I graduate, and since that’s in two weeks (ah! real life!), I finally did it.

DSCN2080

Pattern: Edgar by Silke Hupka

Size: X Long scarf

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted in the S M Gold colorway

Needles: Size 8

This professor I made this scarf for teaches and loves folk art from Latin America, so I tried to go with that theme for making the scarf. It’s the same color pallette as a coin bag I bought in Chiapas, and Malabrigo is made in a women’s co-op in Uruguay, so it’s a Latin-inspired scarf (as much as that’s possible…) Anyway, she LOVED it and said she’s wear it all the time. The length was perfect on her and I’m so glad she’s happy with it. She said that she was glad she finally got one of my “famous textiles,” which really shows that she knows art history.

DSCN2079

I think that this pattern and variegated yarn work PERFECTLY together. Normally, I hate both garter stitch and variegated yarns, but this pattern shows both of them off to the best extent possible. The garter stitch helps keep away the edge pooling that I hate so much, and the pattern, which has every row a different length, keeps pooling to an absolute minimum. I don’t even know how it would be possible for this pattern to pool at all. Without the pooling, the colors are shown off so nicely and it emphasizes the diagonal nature of the rows. I know this pattern was written for self-striping yarns, but variegated look so good on their own.

It even looks cool when you fold it!

It even looks cool when you fold it!

The pattern itself was really easy, only requiring row counting so that the squares would all be the same length. And the malabrigo was heavenly to work with. I never knew wool could feel so wonderful. I’ve never used malabrigo before, but I DEFINITELY will again.

Now to get somewhere on that dress I’m designing. I swear, it’s nice to get FOs, but I feel like they’re just distracting me from the dress. I want to get it done so badly, but it’s such a big project. I’m getting there, though!

Leave a Reply

Categories

