Posted by: mamakass | April 26, 2009

Chancellor’s Sheep and Wool Showcase

Yesterday, my sister and I went to the Chancellor’s Sheep and Wool Showcase at the New York State Historical site Clermont. It was pretty darn cool. There were all sorts of awesome people and people selling wonderful wool things at a beautiful place. It’s right along the Hudson river and there’s an old mansion. Quite beautiful. Anyway, we walked around for a while looking at things and talking to people, and I ended up buying some beautiful roving!

The rest of this post is going to be a collection of pictures from the festival.

The Clermont Mansion

The Clermont Mansion

Walking in, you see a bunch of tents and people spinning

Walking in, you see a bunch of tents and people spinning

I LOVED these bags of wool. They were so soft and smelled like sheep.

I LOVED these bags of wool. They were so soft and smelled like sheep.

Gorgeous mohair yarn

Gorgeous mohair yarn

This roving is amazing.

This roving is amazing.

Sheep and goats (there were alpacas too, but I didn't get a good picture of them)

Sheep and goats (there were alpacas too, but I didn't get a good picture of them)

This is where I bought my roving. (I got the blue)

This is where I bought my roving. (I got the blue)

The tag for my roving

The tag for my roving

The roving I bought in the beautiful sunlight!

The roving I bought in the beautiful sunlight!

All in all, it was a wonderful day. The weather was beautiful, the wool was beautiful and the people were nice and helpful.

I hope you all had a wonderful day as well.

Responses

  1. Oh man. As a new spinner, I would have been in ‘sheep heaven’ if I could’ve gone to this event.
    Looks like you had a perfect day and the roving you bought is beautiful!

  2. […] weight yarn. I hope to get enough to make myself a sweater. I have a bump roving of 10.25 ounces of Corriedale that I bought at the Chancellor’s sheep and wool festival last year. My goal is to finish it during the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

