Posted by: mamakass | April 19, 2009

Project, Project, Project

So, it’s been a few days since I’ve posted anything, and it makes me feel like I’m slacking. Well, at least in the blog category. I have NOT been slacking in the senior project department. I’ve been spending absolutely all of my free time finishing up my project, editing my translation and (worst of all) writing my introduction. However, I currently feel pretty good about it. It’s technically due on April 29, but I have to get it professionally printed and bound, so I feel good about where I am, since it only needs minor revisions from here on out. I’m so happy it’s almost finished! I feel accomplished, and it means that I will be graduating college! Always a good thing.

My sister and I have (we’re pretty sure) found an apartment to move into when we’re done with school, though the job search continues to not be fruitful. Oh well, more looking to be done.

The dress I’m designing is moving along at a snail’s pace. I have the design completed, but it’s the knitting that’s not happening. It’s top down and I have only gotten to the top of the hips. (Oh yeah, and it’s backless!) What with writing so much I really don’t have time to knit, and I’m feeling like I’m in withdrawal. I might have to knit up something small just to feel like I’ve done something with knitting since the dress is likely going to take another month and a half. I still have a LONG way to go, because the rows get very long very fast.

My spindle has been confiscated by my sister. I got it and was really tempted to work with it, so it’s in her room. She’s going to learn to spin too, so we’ll get to work together. Truth be told, I’m a little jealous of her spindle. Her boyfriend is really into woodworking, so they handmade it together and it is gorgeous. I’m not sure how it spins because she hasn’t tried, but the spindle is quite pretty.

Oh! And there’s a wool festival here next weekend! The Chancellor’s Sheep and Wool Showcase is going to be right near here. My sister and I are going to go and buy fibers to practice spinning with and look around. Ooh! I’m so excited. I will be sure to take lots of pictures and update you guys on how it goes.

Responses

  1. Ha! My spindle is so pretty!

    But yours is red, so you have a crush on it. And it probably spins better than mine.

    • Now that we know yours works, I still am jealous. Though I still love mine, so it’s not an overwhelming jealousy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

