Posted by: mamakass | April 1, 2009

Being Meta

Just in the interest of being fair to my kind photographer, I’m here to tell all of you that my boyfriend has taken a good deal of the photos on this site. Anything that looks nice (including my beautiful palm tree header) were taken by him with his really nice camera, whereas the more lame ones with flash were taken with my signifcantly less nice camera. He’s only around sometimes, which is why only some of the photos were taken by him.

Additionally, I would like to talk about blogging. I’ve been doing this for, I guess, about two weeks now, and I really love it. Blogging is so much fun! I used to annoy all of my friends by talking about knitting all the time, and now I have an outlet for that, whether or not anyone (many people) read it. I got my first comment today! That’s a step in the right direction! I’m very excited about it. I think I will continue blogging for quite some time, and hopefully get some readers.

I’ve been working on translating the appendix for my senior project. I feel so meta doing it. (For those of you who don’t know, for my purposes, “meta” is about self-reverencial metatext. This is like when authors of books talk about the book their writing, or when characters in a book remark about being in a book, or when a blog writer writes about writing a blog. You get it.) Anyway, the author of the book I’m translating happened to also write an essay called “The Translator”, so I’m translating that too and putting it as the appendix. It’s so meta because I’m translating a really meta book, then translating an essay about translating a book, and it’s all crazy and postmodern and meta and I love it.

I really haven’t gotten any work done on my knitting lately, but that’s because I’m too distracted by having work to. There are still three more pages of my appendix to translate, a 20 page midterm to write and a 2-3 page midterm to write, not to mention finishing my introduction and editing the entire translation by April 11. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Categories

