Posted by: mamakass | March 12, 2009

Yay! The New Knitty is out!

It’s very fortunate that the new knitty came out right about the same time I started my blog, because it gives me something awesome to talk about!

By far my favorite pattern in it is Decimal. Look how pretty it is! Also amazing, one of the two yarns it calls for is Knitpicks Shinesport, which is perhaps my favorite yarn ever, because not only is it drapey, soft and beautiful, it is also cheap!

I must have one!

I must have one!

I also like Pioneer, but I don’t like that the edging is crochet. So I’ll either knit it and change the border or never make it, but I guess we’ll see. It will probably be the latter, as I have about a million projects I want to be working on right now. There’s something special about springtime that makes me want to knit everything. Maybe that’s because I prefer to knit on small gauges and springtime allows for that better, or maybe it’s that right now I’m crazy busy working on my translation, and I want to knit in order to procrastinate that, but anyway, to get back to the point, here’s a picture of Pioneer.

Pretty!

Pretty!

I also like Santeney, but since I NEVER NEVER NEVER NEVER wear vests, I feel no need to make it.

I also realy like the Shipwreck Shawl, but since I don’t wear shawls, I’ll probably go the way of Jared Flood and knit it in a bulkier weight to make it into a blanket. Another thing I really like about this pattern is that it’s beaded and I’d like to try beading again since I’ve only done it once. Anyway, without further ado, I give you a picture of the Shipwreck Shawl, so you can imagine it as a beautiful beaded blanket, knit probably on DK or sport weight yarn.

This would make such a pretty blanket

This would make such a pretty blanket

Anyway, that’s all for my knitty wrapup. I have nothing to say about the other patterns, because either (a) I don’t like them, (b) they are intended for children or men, both of whom I have no need to knit for (as all the men I know won’t wear sweaters, either because they don’t like them or because they live down south, where there is absolutely no need) or (c) they are sock patterns, and I don’t knit socks. What’s the point of knitting something that will be hidden in your shoes? I know this is blasphemy for a knitter, but I have never knit a pair of socks, nor do I ever see myself doing it. There are just so many more beautiful things you can knit that people will actually SEE.

Leave a Reply

Categories

