Posted by: mamakass | February 25, 2013

In which I ask for color advice

As I mentioned previously, I am working on a beautiful shawl using some handspun yarn. Just so everyone knows what we’re talking about, here’s a picture of it as a WIP from about two weeks ago, with the photo of the pattern:

color changey

And here’s a picture of the yarn skein:

November Foliage

 

Now, it’s time to admit. I hate the color scheme. I would have never picked it out in the first place, but it was this fiber from my Knit it Up Spinning the Seasons fiber club I did a couple years ago. Here’s a picture of it as fiber:

Not so much like fall at all

That colorway is called “November Foliage” but I just can’t get myself to love it or think it’s like fall. I don’t like the combination of the definitely fall gold with the definitely not fall green and purple. It just looks horribly muddied and thrown together in my opinion. Since I’ve gotten many compliments on it as I have been knitting it in public, I’m sure that other people disagree with me.

I was hoping to improve the yarn with the gorgeous shawl pattern, but the more I knit it, the more I think I’m ruining a beautiful pattern with ugly yarn.

So I’ve decided to overdye it after I get finished with knitting it.

And I want your advice. What color? I have red, blue, yellow and black dyes, so I can pretty much make any color I want. My trouble, though, is that I will get grin-through from these colors after it’s dyed, so the new color has to look good after it’s mixed with all of these.

Help! What color should I use?

 

Responses

  1. Since you like the muddiness and don’t like the green, why don’t you overdye it with a brown like coffee to muddy up the green and see what happens? If you hate it, you could still always overdye it with something much darker like navy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

