Posted by: mamakass | February 2, 2013

FO: Giftee Knitting Blanket

So many colors!

Pattern: Autumn Haze by Brenda York

Yarn: Yarn I brought home from work. It’s a worsted weight cotton/acrylic blend.

Needles: Size 8 and 9

Modifications: Instead of repeating the same three times as the pattern suggests, I rotated the colors on each of the three pattern repeats. So the second time through, I made color A into color B and color B into color C, etc. So that there isn’t a perfect repeat. This mixes the colors in different ways throughout, and especially makes the multi-colored slip stitch section different each time.

I also went up a needle size for the slip-stitch sections because they’re narrower. I wish I had gone up 2 sizes.

Closeup of the slip stitch section

 

Every year my knitting group does a present swap, and each person is assigned someone else to spoil. This year I was extremely happy the the person I was assigned since I like her very much. When we were assigned people, I had recently come home from work with about 20 pounds of yarn, so I saw this as a great opportunity to use some of the yarn to make an awesome gift.

Thankfully, since she’s so awesome, she loved the blanket! Hooray!

My spoilee and her present!

Responses

  1. [...] up: The afghan I’m making for my boyfriend’s parents. I didn’t mention on my giftee afghan, but I brought home about 20 pounds of yarn from work because we didn’t need it and I [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

